www.EuropeanGoldfinch.net

ABOUT THE SITE:
This site is dedicated to fans of the European Gold Finch (EGF), or Carduelis carduelis as they are known in the scientific community.

FAQ:
What is a European Gold Finch?

The EGF is a small passerine bird of the finch family. The EGF is approximately 11-13.5 cm (4-5 inches) long and weighs 16 to 22 grams. Sexes are alike, with a red face, black and snowy white heads, brown and white breast upperparts and black wings with yellow flares. They are simply beautiful!

FOR MORE EGF FACTS, READ THE FAQ HERE!

.

Thread | return to list
Paris Finch Symposium?
FiddlyFinch912
04/02
9:30pm
Howdy you guys. I am thinking about traveling to the annual symposium held for all European finches in Paris, France this summer. It is supposed to have a number of acclaimed ornithologists who will be speaking as well as the conservation efforts going on in eastern Europe right now. Being a simple US gal, I’m not sure if I’ll be too out of place with all those euro sophisticates –has anyone been there?
GenusEuphona
04/02
11:11pm
Fiddly! I think you will have a delightful time. Do not be intimidated at all by our European gold finch fan counterparts on the other continents. I have not been to the conference in France, but I did go to one held by a University in Stockholm and I found it to be fascinating. At the time I was teaching an adult enrichment class on birds at a local high school at night and found tons of relevant teaching materials there. Go! Have Fun! And Be Finch Merry!
FiddlyFinch912
04/03
8:00am
Genus, thank you for your kind and encouragin’ words. I think I will take your advice and look more further into it. Anyone else been?
EllieGolden
04/03
12:02pm
FiddlyFinch, I wish I could tell you that I had heard good, nice things bout the Paris symposiums. But unfortunately, my friend went and said the accommodations were terrible, and the food overpriced. Better stick to what we got here if you ask me.
FiddlyFinch912
04/03
3:22pm
Ellie, thanks for the tips on the traveling conditions, but did your friend say anything about the symposium itself???