www.EuropeanGoldfinch.net

ABOUT THE SITE:
This site is dedicated to fans of the European Gold Finch (EGF), or Carduelis carduelis as they are known in the scientific community.

FAQ:
What is a European Gold Finch?

The EGF is a small passerine bird of the finch family. The EGF is approximately 11-13.5 cm (4-5 inches) long and weighs 16 to 22 grams. Sexes are alike, with a red face, black and snowy white heads, brown and white breast upperparts and black wings with yellow flares. They are simply beautiful!

FOR MORE EGF FACTS, READ THE FAQ HERE!

.

Thread | return to list
Alberta, Canada: Bird Sightings Galore!
CTfinchforever
04/06
9:42pm
I recently returned from a bird watching trip in Alberta, Canada with my senior’s group. 5 days of Snow Geese, Brants, Red-throated Loons and Western Grebe!! I was in heaven! And Grant, a good friend of mine who accompanied us, took some amazing photographs including a Yellow Rail, Northern Bobwhite and Ruddy Duck! Who would of thought? Now I’m worn out and preparing for my grandson’s church play this evening.
TrainsetMan
04/08
10:10am
That sounds like an amazing trip, CTFF! Years ago my wife and I have often talked of visiting Canada to do some bird watching ourselves but we never got around to it. Sadly, Irma passed away three years ago so we were never able to take our trip. I’ve heard Alberta can be quite nippy this time of year. I hope you stayed warm.
CTfinchforever
04/23
7:16pm
TrainsetMan -- I hope you’ll still consider taking the trip. I know your wife would love nothing more for you then to witness God’s magnificent creatures in their natural habitat. God bless you.
Scuderi2000
05/08
9:12pm
I am taking a bird watching trip of my own this Summer to Great Britain. It’ll be my first time to Europe since the early 70’s and my first experience with EGF’s in the wild. My daughter and her husband are taking me as part of a mother’s day present.
CTfinchforever
05/09
7:44am
You will love G.B., Scuderi2000! If you get an opportunity, be sure to check out the Beak N’ Feathers store in London. It’s a small shop for bird enthusiasts and they have the most amazing collection of songbirds you will ever see in one place. Have a great trip and please let me know if you were able to make it to Beak N’ Feathers.