www.EuropeanGoldfinch.net

ABOUT THE SITE:
This site is dedicated to fans of the European Gold Finch (EGF), or Carduelis carduelis as they are known in the scientific community.

FAQ:
What is a European Gold Finch?

The EGF is a small passerine bird of the finch family. The EGF is approximately 11-13.5 cm (4-5 inches) long and weighs 16 to 22 grams. Sexes are alike, with a red face, black and snowy white heads, brown and white breast upperparts and black wings with yellow flares. They are simply beautiful!

FOR MORE EGF FACTS, READ THE FAQ HERE!

.

Thread | return to list
Relaxing qualities of EFG song?
GenusEophona
06/18
4:01am
Hey fellow finchies, I recently heard a story on the radio, about scientists involved in sleep studies who have been researching the audio effects on those who suffer from insomnia. One of their recent breakthroughs has been discovering that recorded bird song, in particular the song of the illustrious EGF has been found to slow the human heart rate and assist in eradicating stress. This is such a tremendous breakthrough, and I have always been such a fan of the bird, but now I’m seriously considering buying an EGF to keep in my bedroom and help me drift off to dreamland. I think I will name him Mr. Sandman!
BirdLover1965
06/18
9:33am
You know, my grandmother who was native to Russia was always prattling on about these old wives tales, and she used to say that certain birds could help put you into hypnosis. She’d spin these yarns about the old Baba Yaga witch, and how she had a million bird cages in her home, filled with all different kind of song birds, each with a different sinister purpose. So yes, I guess I’ve heard of this before Genus, but honestly it all sounds a little suspect to me. I bet it’s more likely some store is just setting up to move some audio cassettes on bird songs or something.
KidSpyFinch2343
06/18
2:31pm
I read some stories once in library class about that witch and she sounded very scary to me, I did not like it. It gave me many nightmares.
DocBird007
06/18
6:18pm
There have been some interesting breakthroughs in sleep studies that last couple years and it has been proven that certain pieces of classical music can help. I have never heard of bird songs though, but it might make sense that certain melodic combinations may trigger some sort of release of dopamine in the human mind, much in the way that certain methods of aromatherapy does.