www.EuropeanGoldfinch.net

ABOUT THE SITE:
This site is dedicated to fans of the European Gold Finch (EGF), or Carduelis carduelis as they are known in the scientific community.

FAQ:
What is a European Gold Finch?

The EGF is a small passerine bird of the finch family. The EGF is approximately 11-13.5 cm (4-5 inches) long and weighs 16 to 22 grams. Sexes are alike, with a red face, black and snowy white heads, brown and white breast upperparts and black wings with yellow flares. They are simply beautiful!

FOR MORE EGF FACTS, READ THE FAQ HERE!

.

Thread | return to list
Finch Fantasy!
Goldgoddess67
06/17
8:17am
I hope that no one thinks this is in poor taste but I wanted to take this opportunity to do a little plugging for my upcoming novel. I am writer of fantasy novels and for a long time I have wanted to do a fantasy story about the wonderful world of birds which could feature my favorite animal of all time: The European Gold Finch. The publishers have yet to find a title for it, but I hope that it will succeed in the tradition of other famous fantasy novels with prominent animal characters. It’s a story of a young little euro gold finch who must make his way through the cold and cruel world to find his long lost brethren. I will keep everyone posted as to when it will be published, and what title to look for, but I did want to start a thread to gauge what kind of interest I might get in the bird loving community.
JumpingBean88
06/17
10:45am
That sounds very nice Ms. Goldgoddess. Reading is so very important, and I think the more different kind of books there are out there, the more different people will want to read them. There should be something for everyone! Especially kids, because kids need to learn how to read, and this sounds like such a great story that needs to be told.
BobCarduelisIntrigue
06/17
2:39pm
I hope that I’m not being offensive by saying this, and heaven knows that I’ve read some trash in my time, but I honestly could not see myself purchasing this book to read. It seems like an elementary concept, perhaps sweet and redeeming to the younger set, but for a more mature, advanced reader, I might imagine it would be challenging to attract their attention, particularly if the novel is not constructed in an intricate fashion. Do you have a particular age group in mind Goldgoddess?
Goldgoddess67
06/17
7:13pm
Bob, my hope is that children of all ages (and by that I mean adults who are young at heart too!) will be able to appreciate my novel. I think, like many grand pieces of fiction, it can be appreciated at many levels. For a younger reader, it may be nothing more than a fanciful tale of a little bird trying to get home. But to the more advanced literarian, they will understand the deep levels of hurt and pain that we struggle with everyday, as we too try to get home.