www.EuropeanGoldfinch.net

ABOUT THE SITE:
This site is dedicated to fans of the European Gold Finch (EGF), or Carduelis carduelis as they are known in the scientific community.

FAQ:
What is a European Gold Finch?

The EGF is a small passerine bird of the finch family. The EGF is approximately 11-13.5 cm (4-5 inches) long and weighs 16 to 22 grams. Sexes are alike, with a red face, black and snowy white heads, brown and white breast upperparts and black wings with yellow flares. They are simply beautiful!

FOR MORE EGF FACTS, READ THE FAQ HERE!

.

Thread | return to list
Can Finch Food Hurt You?
JumpingBean88
01/46
11:31am
Hi my good friends. I have sort of a silly question for you –I’m a little embarrassed but oh well. I kinda sorta went over to a buddy’s house, and he has a beautiful pet Euro Gold Finch. It is very lovely. His name is Frankie. Anyways, I was really hungry and I grabbed a handful of seeds, I thought they was sunflower seeds and ate ‘em. My buddy got real mad and told me that was Frankie’s food. He said it was real expensive. But now I’ve had a tummy ache since then, and I’m worried I might get real sick. Can anybody tell me what they put in the EGF prepped food they sell at pet stores?
AddleCagedSing9483
33/07
11:59am
Oh Jumping Bean, I am sorry to hear about your predicament, though your friend is right, unfortunately Gold Finch food is quite costly. I think you should be fine though –there’s a couple unsavory ingredients in the bagged food, but nothing that should hurt you. Just drink lots of water, that should help get it out of your system.
JumpingBean88
12/9
12:08pm
Unsavory? What you mean by that?
BobCarduelisIntrigue
13/16
5:19pm
Harumph. AddleCaged might be too timid to tell you what’s in there, but I am not. Thought what ACS9483 told you is true, it is nothing too harmful. However you should probably know that after some reading up, I discovered that many of the EGF bird feeds include dried WORMS and INSECTS. This should dissuade you from any such foolish actions again!
JumpingBean88
2/98
5:19pm
Oh boy. I feel more ill now…