www.EuropeanGoldfinch.net

ABOUT THE SITE:
This site is dedicated to fans of the European Gold Finch (EGF), or Carduelis carduelis as they are known in the scientific community.

FAQ:
What is a European Gold Finch?

The EGF is a small passerine bird of the finch family. The EGF is approximately 11-13.5 cm (4-5 inches) long and weighs 16 to 22 grams. Sexes are alike, with a red face, black and snowy white heads, brown and white breast upperparts and black wings with yellow flares. They are simply beautiful!

FOR MORE EGF FACTS, READ THE FAQ HERE!

.

Thread | return to list
Better living through Breeding?
FiddlyFinch912
06/07
9:45am
Howdy fellow Euro Gold Finch lovers, I heard an insane rumor from a friend of mine last night who teaches biology at a local college here and I wanted to run it by your Finch aficionados. Apparently, a scientist who works at a nearby genetic research center in Chicago is looking to crossbreed the European Gold Finch with the COMMON city PIGEON. The goal is to try and create a smaller, less territorial breed of city birds that will consume less and will hopefully migrate to warmer climates during the winter months. It all sounds very strange to me –anyone have thoughts?
Cuckoo4Finches
06/07
11:59am
Fiddly, is this your idea of a bad joke? Never have I heard of a more grisly idea in my life. If this is true, I certainly think that all animal protection groups become involved to monitor for animal cruelty and undue experimentation. I am against this sort of crossbreeding, I find it dangerous, and besides who knows how this new breed may behave in the urban environment.
DocBird007
06/07
12:08pm
Settle down Cuckoo. Usually scientists in these types of facilities know exactly what they are doing. I am sure that every precaution possible is taken to ensure the safety and comfort of the organisms involved. I am sure they would not unleash a new species into the city without long periods of testing as well.
JumpingBean88
06/07
5:19pm
What an interesting idea. I think I would like one of those crossbreeds as a pet, and I wonder if they would be good at carrying messages to other people the way pigeons were in the old days. But it might be better if they were smaller.