www.EuropeanGoldfinch.net

ABOUT THE SITE:
This site is dedicated to fans of the European Gold Finch (EGF), or Carduelis carduelis as they are known in the scientific community.

FAQ:
What is a European Gold Finch?

The EGF is a small passerine bird of the finch family. The EGF is approximately 11-13.5 cm (4-5 inches) long and weighs 16 to 22 grams. Sexes are alike, with a red face, black and snowy white heads, brown and white breast upperparts and black wings with yellow flares. They are simply beautiful!

FOR MORE EGF FACTS, READ THE FAQ HERE!

.

Thread | return to list
I’ve got a live one!
Scuderi2000
06/06
10:35am
Friends and fellow finchlovers –I know many of you may not believe this, but as I was out for my morning walk today, I came upon an injured European Gold Finch lying along the edge of the forest. I could not believe my eyes at first –I picked it up carefully, and wrapped it in my sweatshirt –and then brought it home. I immediately jumped online to look at some photos to verify my find, and indeed I saw that I had a European Gold Finch in my home. I live in North Dakota, so that is a very rare and unusual find. Who knows how it ended up here! But it looks like the wing got clipped and I don’t know what to do! The nearest vet is fifty miles away, and I’m not sure if I should head out right now as it’s starting to storm. Any ideas?
Finchfriend234
06/06
11:45am
Well definitely you safety comes first, Scuddy. I would recommend giving the Finch a warm salt bath. I did so once to a wounded sparrow that I found in my front yard. If you see that there is not a lot of blood loss, then I would carefully wrap some guaze around it and wait till the rain stops till you head over to the vet. Perhaps feed it some sunflower seeds to boot.
DocBird007
06/06
12:08pm
I’d be wary about touching the finch –friend. You never know what sort of disease this animal might harbor, (lest I bring up the deadly bird flu!!!) and rubber gloves would be a must if you are going to deal with it at all.
BettyFinchFan483
06/06
1:59pm
Hmm, I wonder if it was being transported, and somehow fell out of the vehicle or tried to escape. I don’t know a lot about bird biology though, I would recommend hydrogen peroxide, but who knows how it might respond! Better to leave it to a vet and just get to one as soon as possible!