www.EuropeanGoldfinch.net

ABOUT THE SITE:
This site is dedicated to fans of the European Gold Finch (EGF), or Carduelis carduelis as they are known in the scientific community.

FAQ:
What is a European Gold Finch?

The EGF is a small passerine bird of the finch family. The EGF is approximately 11-13.5 cm (4-5 inches) long and weighs 16 to 22 grams. Sexes are alike, with a red face, black and snowy white heads, brown and white breast upperparts and black wings with yellow flares. They are simply beautiful!

FOR MORE EGF FACTS, READ THE FAQ HERE!

.

Thread | return to list
Caring for a pet bird
Carol4Christ
06/01
4:22pm
I’m looking for anyone who might be able to give me some help. I recently inherited a pet bird from a dear friend who passed away last week. Her family is in from out of town and is selling all of her things – and asked me if I might like to take care of Mr. Petey Pie. Using the internet I came upon your website. Petey Pie is a European gold finch. I’m sorry to say I don’t know much about birds or about taking care of them. Many years ago I had a dog, Clipper, who was sadly run over in the street and I never had the heart to buy another animal.

Thanks,

Carol
BobCarduelisIntrigue
06/01
4:59pm
Carol –

Welcome to the wonderful world of bird owning! If you scour the Internet you’ll find dozens of very helpful books on how to care for your new pet. But the one piece of advice I didn’t find in any of the books I read– but that I believe to be one of the most important, is to talk to your bird. Even if it’s only in passing… they have feelings too. I once had a canary that lived well beyond his prime… and it wasn’t until after his death that I realized the companionship he and I had shared might have been the reason he stuck around as long as he did.
KVFINCHLOVER7475
06/01
11:00pm
Dear Carol,

I am saddened to hear of your loss. I lost a very good friend of mine several years ago… while time does heal all wounds, there are those that never quite mend. I’ve prepared a list of things every EGF owner should have and will email it to the name you registered under the site on. Okay?

And please, check in from time to time to let us know how you and Mr. Petey Pie are doing!
KVFINCHLOVER7475
06/02
7:32pm
Dear Carol4Christ,

I was hoping we could get an update on Mr. Petey Pie. How are you two enjoying being roommates?